Default security for entries

In Administration – Settings – Vault Settings, navigate to the Permissions tab. Under Inherited Permissions, change the Permission drop-down list to the desired setting:

  • Default (Inherited): Allows users and roles that are assigned to a vault to see the content of that vault, but what they can do with it depends on how the permissions were set at the user level.
  • Custom: Allows to select specific users and user groups for each permission.
  • Never: Denies any access to all users, even if they have been given access to the vault. This can be used to set the permissions at the folder or entry level, for example.
    Vault Settings – Permissions
    Vault Settings – Permissions

To confirm the change, edit an entry below the vault and navigate to the Security – Permissions section. All permissions set to Default inherit the value from System Permissions or the user. Inherited values are displayed next to the permissions.