Checkout Process

  1. To check out an entry requiring approbation, the user needs to go to the Privileged Access section on the Devolutions Server's webpage.
  2. The user then clicks on the Accounts panel.
    Privileged Access
    Privileged Access

The user then locates the account they want to check out for temporary use and clicks the Check Out button on the entry.

PAM Account Selection
PAM Account Selection

A pop-up will appear requesting information on the checkout request to be sent to an administrator for approval.

Checkout Request
Checkout Request

Once the request is sent, the selected Approver will have the request in the Checkout field of his Privileged Access window.

Checkout Request
Checkout Request

  1. To check out an entry requiring approbation, the user needs to go to the Privileged Access section on the Devolutions Server's webpage.
  2. The user then clicks on the Accounts panel.
    Privileged Access
    Privileged Access

The user then locates the account they want to Check Out for temporary use and clicks the Check Out button on the entry.

PAM Account Selection
PAM Account Selection

A pop-up will appear requesting information on the checkout request to be sent to an administrator for approval.

Checkout Request
Checkout Request

Once the request is sent, the selected Approver will have the request in the "Checkout" field of his Privileged Access window.

Checkout Request
Checkout Request

The approver gets the following pop-up when clicking on the request where it's possible to either Approve or Deny the request and leave an optional message.

Approve/Deny Window
Approve/Deny Window

If the request is denied, the user will see that their request on the account is no longer pending and was denied in the recent activity field of the main Privileged Access page. If approved, they will be able to access the account by clicking on the same button they used to submit the request. They'll now get this Active Checkout window instead of the request one :

Checkout Active
Checkout Active

Once done with the account, they can use the CheckIn button on the last window to release their hold on the checkout.

Privileged accounts' passwords are automatically changed on check-in if the corresponding option is enabled.