Bitwarden
In Remote Desktop Manager, there are the Credential Management and Synchronizer entry types for Bitwarden, this topic will explain how each one works. To learn more about creating and managing a Bitwarden account, please consult the documentation on their official website.
Credential Management
Here is a description for each field or option, in order from top to bottom. The entry can be found under New entry – Credential management – Password management.
Name
Entry name in Remote Desktop Manager.
Folder
Which Remote Desktop Manager folder the entry will be in.
General tab
Host
Choose between:
United States: Bitwarden cloud hosted in the United States.
Europe: Bitwarden cloud hosted in Europe.
Custom: Custom URL for a self-hosted Bitwarden server, entered in the Custom URL field that appears.
Use "My account settings"
Go to File – My account settings – Settings – Password management and click on Bitwarden to set up this option first; replaces the Username and Password fields.
Client ID
The client ID of the API key.
Client secret
The client secret of the API key.
Master password
Bitwarden's master password for that account.
Always ask password
Always be prompted for the master password when accessing this entry.
Credentials
Click on the ellipsis button to pick a specific credential for this entry.
Always prompt with list: Prompts the user with a list of all the available credentials instead of a specific one.
Synchronizer
Here is a description for each field or option, in order from top to bottom. The entry can be found under New entry – Synchronizer:
Name
Entry name in Remote Desktop Manager.
Folder
Which Remote Desktop Manager folder the entry will be in
Credentials
Read more on Credentials options.
Credentials: Synchronize automatically
The Remote Desktop Manager entry will synchronize automatically with Bitwarden.
General tab
Host
Choose between:
United States: Bitwarden cloud hosted in the United States.
Europe: Bitwarden cloud hosted in Europe.
Custom: Custom URL for a self-hosted Bitwarden server, entered in the Custom URL field that appears.
Client ID
Bitwarden's client ID.
Client secret
Bitwarden's client secret.
Client secret: Master password
Bitwarden's master password.
Destination folder
Click the ellipsis button to set the folder path in the Remote Desktop Manager tree view (which can only be in the same vault).
Synced item types
Choose which Bitwarden items are synchronized:
All: Synchronize both Login and SSH key items.
Credential: Synchronize Login items only. Each item is created as a credential entry.
SSH key: Synchronize SSH key items only. Each item is created as a private key credential entry that holds the private and public keys.
Template
Bitwarden template created within Remote Desktop Manager.
Duplicate check
Duplicate checks will not import entries with the same type and host. Choose between:
Root: Check for duplicates within the whole workspace
Destination folder: Check for duplicates only within the Remote Desktop Manager destination folder or subfolder
Fields
Choose which fields will always be synchronized, and which will not. For example, you could choose not to synchronize the description, because you want to edit it yourself. The SSH key field controls whether the private and public keys of synchronized SSH key items are updated.
Field
Select which fields will always be synchronized, and which will not
Session name prefix
A prefix for the entry that will be created through the synchronizer
Session name suffix
A suffix for the entry that will be created through the synchronizer
Filter
Filter box
It will load the Bitwarden vault to let the user pick the wanted Organizations/Collections for synchronization.
Filter severity
Choose between:
Normal: Accounts that are either in the selected folders or collections will be returned
Strict: Accounts that are both in the selected folders and collections will be returned
Create tags for Organizations/Collections
If enabled, organization and collection tags from Bitwarden will be added to the Remote Desktop Manager entry.
Advanced
Silent mode
This option disables error dialogs (useful when the synchronizer runs automatically at set intervals).
Create virtual folders
Allow the creation of virtual folders.
Action on entry mismatch
Choose what to do on entry mismatch between:
None: Do nothing.
Delete: Delete that entry.
Move to: Move to selected Destination folder.
Make expired: Mark that entry as expired.
My vault name
Choose the vault name.
See also
Last updated
Was this helpful?